Wake Up…

This morning I woke up happy, not ecstatic, but just generally happy for no reason. Maybe it’s because I’ve been away for a week. But I thought it’d have the opposite effect. Waking up back home after a chilled week of sun, sand and massages I expected to be feeling fed up, which isn’t a change from my usual post-uni home life.

Nevertheless I’m glad to say I’m feeling rejuvenated, refreshed, and ready to face the world again. Well not today. Today I’ve just sat and checked through my emails, scanned my computer and watched Jurassic Park.

But I really do need to start making goals again. I remember someone telling me at University that graduates who made goals went a lot further than those who didn’t. ‘We have goals not dreams.’ This made me unhappy at the time. But now I understand that dreams are what you hope for and can be crazy and unrealistic. Goals are what you’re aiming for and they can be altered depending on your situation.

My first goal, the most important to me at the moment, is about my writing. Since I left University it has dwindled. I don’t really write for fun anymore and I’ve had major writer’s block with any of the other writing I wanted to do, e.g. blogging, freelance etc.

I want to get back on track, write for fun, write for work and try a bit of creative writing (I used to love it when I was younger). I’m always reading this blog, Blog About Writing, and thinking I should really try entering a few competitions. I have a problem with my endings with stories but I’m going to try short ones and see where I go from there.

The other main thing I need is a job. I’ve spent time looking at jobs I really don’t want to do because I need the money, and the job centre is driving me crazy. I guess I need to be realistic and what I really need to do is look at jobs I can do, and won’t hate. It may not be writing, but as long as I do keep writing as well I’ll be happy.

This week I’m going to go out and look for a volunteering position somewhere, whether it’s in a shop or wherever. I need to get some experience working with people.

I think that’s the most positive blog post I’ve written in a while. So I’m going to leave it at that, and go and do some research for a well overdue article. I’ll leave you with a pretty picture of a sunset. 🙂

Leave a Reply

