Positive Thinking Works? And I Finally Got a Name Badge.

Since my last blog post I’ve been back to the job centre, managed to get a two week work trial, and am on track with my goals. Whether it’s positive thinking or a complete fluke, I’m just happy that things are going my way finally.

My writing is getting back on track. Just as I got in bed last night I got a rush of ideas for either a short story or a chapter of a novel. I wrote it down as it came to me, and hopefully it will amount to something. I’ve also been researching an article for a website I freelance for. I’m giving myself until the end of the week to write it. Things seem to go better if I set goals and make plans. I’m not going to get ahead of myself. But this is just what I needed to get my head back into my life.

The first day of my work trial went well today. I got set up and settled in fast, and everyone seems nice. One woman said how she started just as a Christmas temp and has been there for years. It’s more proof of how people get comfortable and find it hard to push themselves. Hopefully this won’t happen to me when I do get some ‘permanent’ work. But I get itchy feet very easily, and I’m planning to make sure that my writing gets me somewhere.

It’s all got me in the mood for Christmas early, as I’m working in the Christmas section of a department store. I got covered in glitter, some in my eye, and had sore feet by the end of the day. But it’s made me realise I can do it. I’ve never really done much manual labour, well none at all. I did litter picking for a day, before dragging myself back home covered in mud, and quitting the next day. It was a few years ago, and I hate to think of myself as a quitter, but that has always stuck in my head. I think that’s why I was so happy to get my first name badge.  I’m really looking forward to going back tomorrow. I wonder how long the enthusiasm will last.

Leave a Reply

