Back on the Fasting Bandwagon

You’ve probably seen the fasting diet in every health and fitness magazine, and in the news. I hate diets because they’re usually ridiculous. But this is seriously not one of those stupid fad diets.

In August last year I watched a programme, Horizon: Eat, Fast and Live Longer, about the health benefits of fasting. It showed people who spent their whole lives fasting, others who did it a few times a week, and all the science stuff too.

But it mainly surrounded Dr Michael Mosley’s attempt to fast. He was tested all the way through, and proved that there were loads of health benefits to be had from fasting. These are not only to do with weight loss, but aging too. Here’s an article he wrote about it. The Power of Intermittent Fasting.

Anyway, at that point I decided to try it with my mom. We did it for a few weeks, and really saw the benefits. Like Mosley I could not diet to save my life. But this really isn’t like dieting. Basically you fast 2 days a week and eat normally for the other 5.

I did struggle at times because I am a comfort eater, but it did start to become part of my normal life. You don’t need to eat particularly healthy on your normal days, as long as you don’t over eat to compensate for the fast days.

After a week of the flu, then a holiday shortly after, I fell off the wagon. But Dr Mosley, along with Mimi Spencer, who I think was also involved in the programme, released a book last month, The Fast Diet. I bought it yesterday and have had a quick look through. It explains all about fasting, the benefits and how to do it, and it even has some recipe ideas.

So here I am, back on the bandwagon, ready to fast. Next week is Pancake Day, and the start of Lent. I’m not religious at all but I figure it’s as good a time as any to start. I’m really looking forward to it because I’m getting to that point where I’m feeling a bit slow and tired, and some of my clothes are feeling a little tight.

As soon as I’ve read the book and got into the whole fasting thing I’ll report back. It should give me a something interesting to blog about.

Also, before the end of the week I’ll be reviewing A Very Accidental Love Story, by Claudia Caroll. It’s a great book, with an extraordinary storyline.

Leave a Reply

