Is It Looking Up?

This is the first week that I’ve felt like I’m getting it together.

There was Valentines Day, when I looked at other people’s relationships and realised that even though mine still needs work, what I don’t want is there’s. I don’t know if that’s a strange thing to say. But I’ve had a strange few months since leaving uni, and one thing that really has changed is my relationship. People who say long distance relationships take a lot more work than closer ones. I’ve found the opposite to be true.

I read in Cosmopolitan that if a close friend gets divorced you are 147% more likely to do the same (and we’re not even at that point yet). That’s a horrible thought. We spend way too much time comparing ourselves to others in so many ways but why do we always see ourselves as the bad ones? There’s something about the grass being greener on the other side. But if we took the time to water our grass it would be just as green, or whatever silly metaphor you want to stick in there.

Also, there’s been Pancake Day and the start of Lent. I said I would start my 5:2 fast, but I had all the excuses not to. Pancake Day itself, Valentine’s Day, the morning after when I was at the hotel and wanted a big breakfast. But now that I’ve started reading the book, The Fast Diet, I’ve remembered what made me want to start it back in August. So tomorrow is my first fast day.

Also starting next week is the training course I’ve been waiting for. But a couple of days ago I got an email saying that I had been invited to an interview for the staff writer/journalist position at a business magazine. After the excitement had worn down I started to get worried about the training course. I have no idea why because I’ve already been told I can have the time off for interviews.

But lately I have been second-guessing myself and doubting my abilities. You know those times when you worry that it’s all a dream? Or that somehow you’re a fraud and everyone will find out? But this is the moment I’ve been waiting for. Even if I don’t get the job, somehow getting an interview has made me feel that I am on the right track. Even if this isn’t the job for me, I need the interview practice too. So I’m off to prepare some more.

Leave a Reply

