Overlooked Things That Make Me Smile

At the beginning of this week I had that ‘Monday Blues’ feeling, and nothing seemed to be going right. I was asked to write an introduction for a feature and I spent what felt like hours staring at the page with a complete mind blank, and most likely one of those dopey black looks on my face. It was one of those times when the seconds feel like minutes, and the minutes feel like hours. That was lucky for me, or I would have never finished it.

I wasn’t feeling too good yesterday either. But today, after eventually pulling myself together I got a lot of work done. How can I feel like I’m in way over my head one day, then better the next? I’m learning fast that I can’t just curl up and wait for the world to go away like I used to. I have work to do, and I love saying that. Sending emails, writing articles, feeling like I’m actually getting somewhere in my life, I can’t let a bit of the Monday Blues get in my way.

When I’m feeling bad it can be really hard to remember the things that do make me happy. But it’s the little things that suddenly pop up unexpectedly that can brighten up even the worse moods.

Saying Hello

Every morning when I get into work the security guard says good morning. I’m not always a friendly person early in the day, but I’ve made appoint of saying hi back to him. I just think it’s nice. I also always say goodbye at the end of the day. It’s only a little thing. But it’s nice to be noticed as a human being sometimes.

Good Morning Text

Knowing that the first thing someone thinks about in the morning is you is the best thing in the world. There’s not much else to say on that subject.

Sunshine

When you have to be up and out of the house early, it’s hard to be in a good mood. But when you step out of your front doorway into the sunshine, there isn’t a better feeling. You may have to use your imagination at the moment as were not having the greatest weather. But it was quite bright today, and freezing, but the sun was there.

Flowers

They smell so good; they’re so bright and beautiful. How can they not drag you out of a bad mood? I don’t just mean a surprise from a boyfriend, who is probably trying to apologise for making you feel grumpy in the first place. It could be walking down the road and noticing a pretty garden, or when the shops sell those giant sunflowers in the summer. It’s a bit of a girly cliché, but flowers are nice.

Recognition

Whether it’s well done or good job, two words can make you feel good about yourself. Embrace it, and learn to take a compliment. Also, you can make someone else feel good about themselves by giving them deserved praise. We seem to reserve it for children and animals. But we all need recognition too.

Sales

When you find a piece of clothing in a sale, in your size, and there’s only one, it’s fate.

Presents

An unexpected present can brighten anyone’s day. It doesn’t have to be expensive or extravagant. The other day my boyfriend bought me a little chocolate bunny on a stick. It was just a little gift to say ‘I was thinking of you.’

My Cat

Animals seem to know when you’re upset or ill. There have been many times when I’ve been crying, had a migraine or been completely flued up, and my cat has come to my aid. He’s usually a fussy cat, meowing over and over again even if he’s been fed. He’ll take your seat, or space in bed, as soon as you get up. But if I’m not feeling too well he’ll be there curled up next to me.

Leave a Reply

