I Won’t Give Up My Books

CDs killed tapes, DVDs killed VHS, but I’ll delete my Facebook profile before I let eBooks kill my old paper friends. According to The Guardian, although physical book sales are declining, they’re doing so at a slower rate than previous years. So even with the recession and the rise of eBooks, we haven’t lost yet.

As I may have said before, I still can’t bring myself to buy an eBook. The main thing is that I can’t convince myself to buy something that doesn’t exist, physically I mean. I know I can read it, and even move it to different devices, but it’s still not a real book. Although, I have downloaded a lot of free eBooks, mainly short stories; and it’s nice to have a few books in one place.

But there is so much about books that I love. There’s nothing like the smell of a new book, or the turn of the first page, and the feeling as you’re reaching the end. All you get with an eBook is the page numbers and fake page-turning. It’s just not the same.

The problem is that I’ve been struggling to find a new book to read lately. I started reading Perks of Being a Wallflower a while ago, but I really couldn’t get into it. I hate to not finish a book. But I had such high expectations for this one and it has disappointed me. Now I can’t find another book that I really want to read.

A book I reviewed a while ago, Rachel’s Holiday, is part of a series (The Walsh Family Series). As got it as a free iBook at Christmas I thought that maybe I could buy the others from the series online. But then I found out that the first book in the series isn’t available as an i/eBook. This is the problem with new technology; you need to give everything else a chance to catch up. The later books in the series are available online, but the first one was released before the rise of the eBook.

This may not seem to be a big deal for everyone, but as a person who likes her books to be in order, it will drive me crazy. Here’s an example:

I read the first two Twilight books just before the ‘Twihard’ fad began and way before the films were released. The problem with this was that the last book in the series was realised just as I finished the third. It was released as a hardback. But I had the first three books in paperback, so naturally I refused to buy the last book.

Eventually I realised I was being ridiculous and bought the last book in hardback. Then, not only was the ending of the series a complete anti-climax, but now on my bookshelf, haunting me forever, is a series of books: three paperbacks and one hardback.

Then they went on to make a ridiculously overrated film, change the ending (which I haven’t even seen) and ruin the thought of vampires for everyone forever. But that’s a whole different story.

Back on the subject of eBooks, shall I just stop whining and buy one? I really want to read the rest of the Walsh Family series, and I know that if I buy them as physical books I’ll have to buy the one I already have. I don’t have the space in my tiny box room for more books, and my iPad is probably feeling neglected.

I promise to love my real books forever, and I’ll never throw away my old Enid Blyton books (that are currently packed away in the loft). But I guess it’s time to take another baby step into the tech-world before I’m completely left behind.

 

Leave a Reply

