Those Books You Were Meant to Read

I’ve had trouble with my writing and reading over the past couple of weeks. I mean, I can still physically do both – my fingers and my eyes still work… for now.

I couldn’t find a picture to demonstrate that.. But this is close enough… Gotta love Spongebob!

But I haven’t written a full blog post in about two weeks. My posts section is full of half written crap that I just want to delete. In fact I’ve been close to pressing the delete button on this whole blog.

I have strange moments in the middle of the night, or just as I’m drifting off, where I get an idea in my head. If I don’t write it down, the next day it’s gone. I jumped out of the shower yesterday, ran to my room, and still dripping in my towel I pulled out my notebook and scribbled down pages of.. well I’m not sure as I haven’t looked back through it yet. But I’m pretty sure it won’t be good enough.

My reading is going pretty much the same. I started to read Perks of Being a Wallflower, a book I’ve wanted to read for  a while. But just over half way through it I just put it down, and haven’t picked it back up again since. I always read books through to the end, even if it’s just so I can say that I’ve read it and I hate it.

I’ve walked through the big, beautiful Waterstones in Birmingham, and not bought one book. I’m starting to think I’m broken (that’s just one of the stupid things I say when I’m not feeling myself).

So I’ve decided to start to read those books you’re “supposed to” (with big air quotes). By that I mean ‘the classics’ the ‘genre-breakers’ and the ‘must-reads’ etc, etc.

I think I’ll start with The Hobbit because I was dragged to the cinema to see the film and unexpectedly really enjoyed it, even though my boyfriend had neglected to tell me that it was the first of three films before we got there (and before my bum had gone totally numb from sitting still for too long). Also, I saw it on the bookshelf in the hall yesterday. My parents have so many books, you could build a house with just the Terry Pratchet ones (well that’s a bit of an exaggeration). I will get round to those eventually.

But next will have to be The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy because I know that’s is around the house somewhere too. Then maybe a classic, something by Jane Austen? I’m going to try to steer clear from my usual ChickLit and vampire/magic books. If anyone has any suggestions I’d be happy to hear from you.

But for now I’m just happy that I managed to finish a blog post..

Leave a Reply

