Feminism vs Lads Mags

I’m not sure whether I consider myself to be a feminist. I believe that women should be equal to men of course. But I’m not ready to stand there proudly with the feminism crowd just yet.

There has been a campaign against Facebook’s policy on indecent/just-plain-horrific pictures and videos for a while now. From what I’ve seen on Twitter, Facebook has finally caved in. For that I applaud (woop woop!) anyone who was involved. These images should never have been allowed on Facebook (or anywhere) in the first place.

But now the so-called feminists have moved on to lad’s mags. Am I the only one who doesn’t have a problem with them? Women drool over half-naked men just as much as men do over women. It’s not ok for them to objectify us, but it’s fine the other way round? I could understand if these women were being forced to pose nude. But they’re being paid for it, some even say it makes them feel empowered. Look at Katie Price, does she look like a victim to you?

If it’s about body image then some of you may want to look a little closer to home.

First of all, the ones promoting this ‘thinspo’ and ‘fitspo’ crap seem to be women. The women’s lifestyle magazines (yes I love them too) are still filled with tiny models and airbrushed celebrities. Also, the way these people sit and judge celebrities because they’ve put on a few pounds is horrible. Kim Kardashian is a pregnant woman, yet someone still feels the need to zoom in on her swollen ankles. Where’s the girl power there?

Kim 3

I’m not a big fan of the Kardashian brand. But I think she looks beautiful.

Also, any time I have had a quick glance up at the top shelf, I’ve seen every kind of woman (and some men) you can think of. In fact I’d say that the lads mags are more diverse than the women’s lifestyle ones.

But I do believe that there’s a time and place for these images. I remember going to a glass museum as a child and being surprised at seeing a calendar of naked women. It put a kind of ‘men at work’ stamp on the place, which brings up the problem of male-dominated jobs. How are women supposed to feel equal with pictures like this on the walls at work? Why do you need to be looking at naked women at work anyway? But this isn’t the magazine publishers’ fault. Things like this should be regulated by employers.

I do wonder how many of these protesters have picked up one of the magazines they object to so much. It may not be to their taste, but it isn’t exactly dangerous. I believe that what you do in your own time is your business, within reason of course. We should be keeping this side of the magazine industry alive so it can be regulated, rather than leaving it up to some dodgy website with no rules or regulations.

It’s true that children shouldn’t be exposed to these magazines. But part of that is up to parents and teachers. It is their job to educate and protect. It’s a sad fact that a lot of kids have seen worse online than the what’s in the magazines.

Rather than overreacting (I am seriously waiting for the torches and pitchforks), we should  just keep these lad mags on the top shelves, out of reach, and maybe have some sort of censoring on the covers. Sometimes if you find something offensive, you should just not look at it. I find the leggings/thong combo sickening. But I’ve just learned to turn away.

Are we forgetting that feminism is about EQUAL rights for women? That means men have to be equal too (sorry ladies). This does not mean that we should try to overthrow men every chance we get. So can we focus on something more important please?

[Pingback:http://plasticdollheads.wordpress.com/2013/05/27/dangerous-dolls-ban-the-lads-mags/]

One thought on “Feminism vs Lads Mags

  1. Pingback: Dangerous Dolls: ‘Object’ and Lose the Lads’ Mags | plasticdollheads

Leave a Reply

