So Many Writing Ideas..

I’ve been reading so much advice about writing – creative and journalistic, and blogging over the past few months. I’ve come to the conclusion that my writing needs direction, starting with this blog. With so much whirling around in my head I feel like I have to write about everything. But it’s just not possible, and I’ve found out that others have this problem.

The blog was created to show my enthusiasm for writing, and the direction I want my writing career to go.

So from now on I Hope You’re Taking Notes will stick to these four sections.

a- Voicing my thoughts on the world around me – This part of my blog will be staying the same, but I’m going to try to make it more journalistic. Also I want to get rid of the name ‘thoughts of the day.’ But it’ll have to stay for the moment as I can’t think of anything better. Ideas anyone?

b- Books, books and more books – Book reviews (at least two a month), talking about authors, and anything about books in general. (I’ll also keep reviewing any films or interesting things on TV I see as it ties in well).

c- My creative writing – I’m a big chicken when it comes to my creative writing, which is a shame because I love writing. I loved writing little stories and poems when I was young, and if I want to get my novel started I need all the practice I can get.

d- Travel writing – Working as a business journalist, talking to people from so many different countries, has made me realise how much I want to travel. With work and lack of funds I’m going to have to start small. But as it is an area of journalism that I have no experience in, but really want to get into, I have to start somewhere.

Also, a message to my followers!

I found 50 Cheap And Easy Things To Do This Summer That Will Make You A Better Writer on Twitter, and decided to do number 5:

-Tweet this: Every new follower I get today will receive a personalized haiku. Then be prepared to write them.

I’m going to go one step further – every follower I have will receive a Haiku within the next month or so. I’m starting from the first followers (who may have gotten sick of me by now). So if you’re a new follower be patient. 🙂

Leave a Reply

