Writing From Prompts – Scene Stealers

I’ve been writing from a few prompts for a while. So I thought it’s finally time to put some of them online. Today I found a great prompt from Write to Done. It’s called Scene Stealers. It’s similar to Write a Story With Neil Gaiman, where they start the story, and you finish it.

I thought my little story was pretty good. My part starts where the bold ends.

The tiny park was almost deserted. Boundary walls, lawn, play area. Two toddlers throwing sand at each other, their mothers or nannies chatting next to them, strollers put aside. Nobody else – not even a gardener or dog or cat.

But the note had been emphatic: “Be there at 1pm. At 1:14, you will get the scoop of a lifetime.”
I fidgeted and glanced at my watch. 1:14pm. Suddenly the heavens opened. The women scooped up their children and ran for cover.

“Oh, great,” I mumbled under my breath, “This better be worth it.”

“Well you can decide that for yourself,” a voice said from behind me.

I turned around to see a man dressed from head to toe in grey, with the umbrella to match. I stepped towards him. I’d seen his type before, dark and mysterious, with nothing much to say.

“You’re not exactly what I expected,” he said, chuckling to himself, “I don’t know if you’re the right person for this.”

“Of course I am. If there’s a story I’ll find it. I’ve uncovered some of the biggest scandals this year alone,” I said, “Maybe I need a little help sometimes. But that’s where you come in.”

“Ok then,” he said, “Take a seat.”

We sat down on the soaked bench and I watched as he stared into the distance.

After a few minutes I looked at my watch, “It’s 1:21.”

“You can’t see it,” he laughed, “Look.”

He was pointing far off into the distance. I couldn’t see anything through the rain.

“Wher…” I started to say as I saw it, “What is that?”

“This may be the time for the camera,” he said.

I jumped up and ran towards the trees, ripping the camera out of my bag, spilling everything. I needed this. I had to be the one to break this story. I wasn’t even sure what it was.

Suddenly there was a strange humming and a dim blue light, slowly getting brighter. I stopped. Before I knew what was happening the light has surrounded me. The humming got louder.

Then it all went black.

So what do you think?

It’s about time I put some of my writing out there for criticism. I’ve done a few other little creative writing pieces from prompts. So maybe you’ll see more soon.

Also, I’ve been getting a bit behind with posts.. I owe you all a film review, a book review and for the first time a theatre review! They are coming I promise.

Leave a Reply

