Daily Prompt: Toy Story

Daily Post

What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MEMENTO.

I’ve already done one piece of fictional writing from a prompt this week so I won’t do another one. But I came across this story: Dad, Me, And A Toy Jeep |The Jittery Goat Blog. So I thought I would have to tell you the story of my talking pony toy.

I’m a Happy Little Pony

I think I was about two years old when I lost it on the bus. I don’t remember where I got it from, who gave it to me, or even when I got it. But I loved that pony. When you squeezed it, it used to say things like: “I’m a happy little pony!” and “I love kids.”

I kept the toy carrot that I used to pretend to feed it with for a while. But eventually it got lost, or thrown away with all of the other old or broken toys.

It’s strange that I missed something that eventually I couldn’t even tell you what it looked like. My aunty bought me a toy pony, I think to make up for it. But it didn’t do anything so I wasn’t very interested in it. I think it’s up in the loft with the other teddies I can’t bring myself to throw away.

I have a strange attachment to my teddies. Every so often I’d look online, searching eBay and retro toy websites. But I couldn’t find that pony. I always imagine that some nasty kid found it and kept it.

On my 16th birthday I unwrapped that best present ever. A hug ‘n’ talk pony. It wasn’t my pony. But it was the same kind. Finally I could look at the toy I had treasured as a child. It had a cute little bib and a nappy. it also kind of looks like Miss Piggy. Why do children always get attached to funny-looking toys.

I’m so glad I have my pony. But it makes me think, if I’d have never lost it in the first place would I have eventually just got bored with it and thrown or given it away? Am I so attached to my teddies now because of the one I loved and lost?

20130912-192614.jpg

edit – Some related posts I enjoyed

Children’s toys do always end up being floppy… – A Floppy-Necked Giraffe |On Gorgeousness

Put a cat in a picture, it just makes it so much better… – By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? |Molly Greye

This post may explain my love of teddies… – Bears, Teddy and Otherwise |The Silver Leaf Journal

I never wanted to look like Barbie either… – more like wannabarbie |wannabepoet

How a toy Typewriter created a writer… – Toys in the Attic |A Good One

I thought I was bad cutting Barbie’s hair and colouring it in with felt tips… – Toy Story: As told by the girl who destroyed all her toys… |Testing the Strength I Have

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Toy Story

  1. Pingback: My doll house | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  4. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

  7. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

