A Few Lessons Learned This Week / You Call That Customer Service?

I’ve been ill this week, and as much as I do love to moan when I’m not feeling well (which seems to be a lot lately) I decided instead to look back and review this week… Ok it involves moaning..

First of all you may have noticed that I haven’t posted all this week, then today a post called: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive / Monday Blues appeared. No I’m not so ill I don’t know what day it is. I actually scheduled it for Monday afternoon, and for some reason it appeared today.

If I had actually checked whether it had posted on Monday this would never have happened. But I was already starting to feel ill. Plus, the poems pretty crap so you didn’t miss out on much really.

Also I seem to have lost my sense of smell, with my ability to breath properly (FYI inhalers tastes like poison!) and gained super sensitivity to sounds as well as the fun feeling of being freezing… then boiling.. then freezing.. today I’m boiling..

So there’s a bit of senses swapping for you..

So what’s next? Yesterday’s Daily Prompt: Are You Being Served

What’s the most dreadful (or wonderful) experience you’ve ever had as a customer?

Here’s a little story for you about my Monday titled..

You Call That Customer Service?

I have an hour lunch break at work, 1pm until 2pm. So last Monday, when I could feel myself getting ill, I decided to pop down to the Bullring to find some ear muffs. I always thought people looked stupid in ear muffs. But after talking to my driving instructor on Sunday I came to the conclusion that this year I would be choosing function over fashion.

After getting my ear protection I planned to go to Holland and Barrett to get some vitamins, probiotics and finally try that chocolate soya milk. But of course that was not how my break went.

Instead of checking in a few shops, finding the ear muffs I wanted, and leaving, I found that most places hadn’t started selling them yet. So I did something I will regret for the rest of my life. I entered Topshop (I refuse to put a link and advertise this place).

Surprisingly I found a nice knitted headband. It wasn’t exactly what I was looking for, but it covered my ears and looked pretty good. It was a bit overpriced. But it was a price I was willing to pay for the warmth of my ears.

When I got to the till I was greeted (or not) by two giggling employees. Not only did they have no intention of serving customers. But they looked like they were having fun laughing at them too. In the end I walked out in disgust. I can’t stand shop assistants who look down on their customers.

So I did what anyone would do in this situation – I posted an angry tweet.

Untitled 

And I actually got a reply. After sending emailing them the exact details I got this email.

Untitled

I think I deserved some gift vouchers for my inconvenience… not that I ever plan on walking into that shop again. But at least ‘Topshop Customer Care’ actually care.. or at least pretend to.

But anyway, here’s the end to my story…

I didn’t have time to go to Holland and Barretts, I just had time to get some chicken, Wotsits and grapes from Morrisons for my dinner (yes they do go together)… and now I’m ill.

So maybe I would have gotten ill anyway. Maybe I should’ve planned my vitamin and probiotic intake in advance.. and maybe they should turn the heating on at work. Either way, I feel like crap.. and I need to blame someone.

Moral of the story… don’t try to do anything on your lunch break other than eating lunch.. and maybe reading.

So that’s enough of my wisdom for today. I’m going to go find something to eat.. because that’s what lunch breaks are for.

One thought on “A Few Lessons Learned This Week / You Call That Customer Service?

  1. Pingback: Want a Reaction? Complain on Twitter – I Hope You're Taking Notes

Leave a Reply

