Birmingham Literature Festival – Its Time to Get in with the Writers

2013 Event Diary

This Thursday is the launch of Birmingham Literature Festival 2013.

If you haven’t heard of it, the festival is just over a week of literature-related events – poetry readings, lectures, workshops, etc. There are more than 40 to choose from around Birmingham, at venues like the Birmingham Cathedral, Ikon Gallery and the new Library of Birmingham. It’s definitely worth having a look, especially if you haven’t seen the new library yet.

I decided, as you will see from my last post: Books, Books and More Books, that I need to be more involved with other writers. It’s all well and good typing here in front of my computer and scribbling in my notepad, but I need feedback and more experience. I’ve also never been to a writing class. So, other than my Uni tutor (who was a journalist), a few people online and my mom, I haven’t had much feedback on my writing. I need to know what I should be working on, and  if I’m really any good.

So I’ll be at these two.. probably sitting nervously in the background:

Tuesday 8th October: Workshop: Writing Science Fiction for Beginners with Alex Davis, 2 -4.30pm, Library of Birmingham – I’ll be at this one.. probably sitting nervously in the background.

Thursday 10th October: Workshop:  Productivity for Creative Writers with William Gallagher, 6 – 8.30pm, Library of Birmingham – I’ll be at this one too.

You can check out the full list of events here. I went into The REP Box Office (it’s attached to the Library of Birmingham) to get tickets. But you can get them online and by phone too. Some are sold out already.

I wasn’t happy to find out that both events with Benjamin Zephaniah were sold out. I remember reading Face when I was at school. It would have been nice to go. So don’t forget and think you can just get tickets at the last-minute.

Even if you don’t feel like going to the events, you can press shot solo head and shouldersstill get involved with some ‘Festival Extras.’

If you listen to Heart fm, you may know Rachel New, one of the breakfast hosts. For the festival she’ll be doing – Ten Day Sentence: 30,000 words. 10 Days. One writer. She’s trying to write a 30,000 word Novella in 10 days. She’ll be in the Book Rotunda in the Library of Birmingham, so you can go down and see her writing. You may even get a chance to help her out. (this is her in case you didn’t know)–>

If this doesn’t seem like your thing, just pop down to the library, read a book, have a piece of cake… it’s so big you could probably find room for a nap.

Leave a Reply

