Daily Prompt: Exhale – Story/Poem – Rainy Day

Daily Prompt: Exhale

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SAFETY.

I’m not really sure whether this is a poem or a story.

Rainy Day

As the rain poured down on my head, soaking my clothes and hair, I pictured my umbrella leaning against the shoe rack at the bottom of the stairs.

As I walked through the river that was once a path, my shoes now flooded, I pictured my wellies lying underneath my bed.

As I stepped forward to cross the road and was met with a tidal wave courtesy of a passing lorry, I pictured a steaming hot bubble bath.

As I ran for the bus that just passed me by even though it was five minutes early, I pictured my car that had been sitting in the garage for the past week.

I could have sat in the rain and cried.

I could have called a taxi and waited in the rain.

I was already wet.

Understatement.

But no.

I plodded on

Knowing there was a log fire

And a hot cup of cocoa

Waiting at home.

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Exhale – Story/Poem – Rainy Day

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inhale and Exhale | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: All’s well that ends well | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Breathe… Exhale | Edward Hotspur

  8. Pingback: The Gremmie’s Lament | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: “Yes… I DO” | hastywords

  10. Pingback: Murphy’s law | Thriving Pessimist…

Leave a Reply

