A Poem: Land of Confusion (The Wedding)

Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion

Tell us about a time when you felt out of place.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CONFUSION.

I have no idea how this came to me from that prompt. But here is a wedding from a young girl’s POV.

What is this place I’m standing in?
The ceiling’s high, the lights are dim
Women wearing gowns and robes
Men in suits with matching bows
The music makes me want to dance
It’s so crowded there’s no chance

Who is that across the room?
If she’s the bride then where’s the groom?
All dressed in white, head to toe
She steps forward about to throw
Those pretty flowers in her hands
I wonder where they’re going to land

I see them flying through the air
While everybody stands and stares
Suddenly I want, I need them
I have to have them, hide them, steal them
I grab them as soon as I am able
Then run and hide under the table

I hear the laughter from outside
But I’m so scared, I have to hide
Suddenly a face appears
I see her smiling through my tears
She offers me a piece of cake
And says…
“What a lovely bride you’ll someday make.”

7 thoughts on “A Poem: Land of Confusion (The Wedding)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Confusion | Words 'n Pics

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Land of Confusion | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: The Christians Thought I Was A Heathen, But Jesus Thought I Was A Hoot | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: TRUST? | hastywords

  5. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s overactive, timid beastie | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Can I help you find something? | JED's Playhouse

  7. Pingback: Complete and utter confusion… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

