Daily Prompt – A Poem: Hear No Evil

Daily Prompt: Hear No Evil

by Krista on December 2, 2013

Tell us about a conversation you couldn’t help but overhear and wish you hadn’t.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SECRET.

As I child I always had nightmares. Sometimes I was too scared to get out of bed in the dark. Other times I’d get up really early, not being able to fall back to sleep until the sun rose. This is a poem kind of based on that.

Nightmares

If I can’t hear it, it’s not there
What’s that moving over there?
I heard it that time, in the corner
It’s getting closer, getting warmer.

Close my eyes, squeezing tight
Why does this happen every night?
I’m not scared, it’s just a dream
Fighting off the urge to scream.

I heard it rustling in the dark
I need some light, just a spark
If I could reach the landing light
Maybe then I’ll be alright.

Dashing blindly to the door
Tripping, falling to the floor
Squinting, blinking, in the light
I survived another night.

Other people’s interpretation of the prompt

 The Magic Black Book – Secret

Photos to Inspire You – Little Dragon Silhouette (I’m glad I’m not the only one who does this)

alienorajt – Lust Overheard

Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This – Secrets

An Upturned Soul – The One Who Wasn’t There (Just because I love the poem they chose)

Finale to an Entrance – Overheard Conspiracy (or Invasion of the Sock Gnomes) (You have to read this.. it made me chuckle)

The Silver Leaf Journal – The Secret (another poem about a little girl)

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – A Poem: Hear No Evil

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hear no Evil | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: A Birthday Gift | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: See No Evil, Hear….. | Kansa Muse

  4. Pingback: Hear No Evil | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  5. Pingback: Moonlight Eyes (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: the walls have ears | Musings of a Random Mind

  7. Pingback: Hear No Evil | Pretty Pleasures

  8. Pingback: The Secret |

  9. Pingback: Hear no evil… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

