Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter – Short Story

Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter

I can’t stand crowds, especially when I’m on a mission. I came here for one reason and one reason only. I said I was going to do some last-minute Christmas shopping. Well if they knew me at all they’d know I’d done it long ago and everything was neatly wrapped, tucked under my Christmas tree.

I weave my way through the people, tripping over a pram as a disinterested mother shuffles by. The air smells sweet with a hint of spice, just like Christmas. But I can’t find it. Where is it?

There are only two days of the market left. By Sunday it’ll be too late and even more crowded. I try to look over the people, but it all looks the same. I pass a toy stall with wooden models, the macaroon stand and men drinking beer from giant glasses.

I start to panic. It’s getting darker and colder. As I wade through the people I begin to lose hope. Then I see it.

I push frantically to towards it, trying to run. But there’s no space. Then I’m there, standing right in front of it.

I exchange some coins for a small package.Embedded image permalink

Finally I have them, smothered in chocolate and sprinkled with a fine dusting of icing sugar. They’re beautiful, hot, sweet and delicious… and in a few minutes they’re gone. It was worth it.

I decided to write a short story dramatising my love for something. In this case it was mini pancakes. It’s not quite rage, but it made me laugh  because I could almost imagine myself  doing this as I was writing it.

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I enjoy those mini treats!

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter – Short Story

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Small shoes, big emotions | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Losing It, But Remembering Where It Is | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: I’ve been flipped so many times, now I’m finally done | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

