Mirror Mirror on the Wall…

Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MIRRORED

“Mirror, mirror, on the wall. Who…”

“What are you doing?”

Jenny jumped, knocking her makeup into the sink. “How long have you been there?” she yelped.

“You’re being weird again,” said Susie stepping backwards out of the room.

Jenny wiped off the remainder of her makeup and followed her sister. “Ever heard of privacy? This is my room, my bathroom.”

Susie was perched at the end of her bed. “Why do you get the ensuite anyways? So you can talk to your imaginary friend in the mirror?” she said throwing herself back onto the bed, “and your bed’s way more comfy.”

“I’m older. Get out!” said Jenny pulling Susie off the bed by her feet.

She got up, rubbing her bum. “Ok ok. I’m going.”

Jenny shoved Susie out of her room and slammed the door. She took a deep breath and walked back into the bathroom.

“Mirror, mirror, on the wall. Who’s been stealing my concealer?” she whispered through gritted teeth.

“That didn’t even rhyme!” a voice came from the mirror.

“Oh gimme a break!” snapped Jenny, “I know it was Susie. Little thief! And you let her go! Why did I bother creating you if you don’t work?”

She had created this mirror to trap her enemies, including her whiny little sister. Her powers weren’t very strong yet. But she was starting to get a hold of them.

“Actually, you’ll be surprised to know…” said the mirror as it fogged up.

An image of a man appeared through the fog. It was her father.

“Oh and look what he’s holding,” the mirror gloated, “Recognise that concealer?”

“What? I… How? Explain mirror!” she shouted.

“He came in here whistling away to himself, and I know how you hate whistling,” laughed the mirror. “He had a hot date you see – wanted to cover up the monstrosity on his chin. He needed a lot more than that if you ask me.”

“Ok, well how do I get him out?” said Jenny, starting to feel uncomfortable.

“Erm…out? No one ever said anything about getting him out,” said the mirror.

“But I didn’t know it was my dad!” Jenny leant against the sink. “So, he’s trapped forever?”

“Probably,” said the mirror, sounding disinterested.

“What do you mean probably?” Jenny asked, narrowing her eyes.

“I dunno,” said the mirror.

“But I thought… ” Jenny trailed off.

“Well you didn’t really think did you?” laughed the mirror.

Jenny looked up straight into the mirror, taking a step forward. “Why are you looking at me like that?” said the mirror, sounding worried.

She had an idea. Leaning over the sink, she yanked the mirror off the wall. With an almighty crash it shattered on the tiled floor, filling the room with smoke.

“Well that was unexpected,” Jenny choked.

As the smoke cleared, she could make out a shape under the sink. It was her dad.

She thought for a second. No one could know what she’d done. She knelt down next to him and shook him awake. “What happened dad?” she asked, trying to sound concerned.

“I’m not sure. I came in here last night to… erm… check on you. The next thing I know I wake up on the floor,” said her dad looking around confused. “I must’ve slipped.”

“Erm… yeh,” said Jenny. “I came in and found you passed out.”

“The mirror!” he groaned getting up, “I must’ve grabbed it on the way down.”

“It’s fine. I didn’t like it much anyway,” shrugged Jenny.

“What’s going on,” it was Susie peeking round the door.

“Oh nothing, dad slipped and broke the mirror,” said Jenny.

“But he wasn’t here a minu…” started Susie, trailing off as Jenny narrowed her eyes at her.

“Let’s get this mess cleared up,” said their dad, dusting himself off.

“Seven years bad luck!” Susie chimed in.

“No it’s fine. Leave it,” said Jenny, ushering him towards the door, “You should get your head checked out.”

“I guess so,” he said looking puzzled, “But I still can’t remember what happened.”

Jenny followed her dad out of the bathroom. “Go on Susie,” she ordered. “Go get dad some painkillers or something.”

She glanced back at the shattered pieces of mirror on the floor before pulling the door shut behind her. She’d have to be more careful with her powers in future or these things would start coming back to haunt her.

“Nothing to worry about,” she told herself.

The mirror was in pieces. The magic had gone.

But as she walked away she was sure she heard someone whisper her name.

Beauty is in the Eye of the Beholder (story)

She stole my face (poem)

The Mirrored Self (poem)

Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror

12 thoughts on “Mirror Mirror on the Wall…

  1. Pingback: Of mirrors and reflections | Concentrate On Yourself

  2. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror:rorriM ,rorriM | Khana's Web

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: The Clash/Daily Prompt, Mirrors | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: Funhouse! | Edward Hotspur

  7. Pingback: Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics...

  8. Pingback: FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords

  9. Pingback: Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  10. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries

  11. Pingback: Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  12. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Silhouette of Distortion” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

