NaPoWriMo Day 5 – Ouch!

There’s a book in my bathroom called Treasure Trove I’m not sure where it came from, but it’s full of funny old children’s rhymes, stories and riddles. I used to love them as a child. Then I got to GCSE English Literature and thought, “When did poetry get so serious?”

The more I read and write, the more I prefer children’s fiction. So this one’s for me.

Ouch

It’s funny how you forget pain
When it’s gone away again
Stub your toe or slash your finger
Pain so sharp and then it lingers
That ouch that burns like an ember
An ache you’d think you would remember
When it’s gone, forget the pain
Until you stub your toe again.

Leave a Reply

