When a Book Just Jumps Out at You…

I was in a Waterstones a few days ago, just browsing. I’ve recently finished a book and I wanted something new. This just jumped out at me. – Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig.

image

I’ve never been suicidal. But I have had anxiety problems for as long as I can remember, so I thought I’d have a flick through.

I’m not a fan of self help books or stories about childhood trauma, etc, etc. But a close friend of mine commited suicide when I was a teenager, and I’ve never really understood why. He’s been on my mind a bit lately…

Anyway, I had a flick through, straight to a bit about explaining things to an alien. This literally sang to me. The only way I’ve ever been able to describe my anxiety is feeling like an alien. It’s as if we all look similar, sound similar, but there’s something different about me.

Now I haven’t read this book yet. But just reading the first few pages I can see it’s going to be interesting. I usually don’t like books like this because they’re too close to home. But it’s nice to step out of my comfort zone and buy something different once in a while. I’ll let you know how it goes.

On another note… I said I’d just finished a book. Summer at Sea by Katie Fforde hasn’t been published yet but I got a free copy (yay free books!) from Lovereading in exchange for a review. It’s a great read if you want to chill with a romantic adventure. It was just what I needed after the rush of Christmas. You can read my review here.

Leave a Reply

