Douchebag Poetry

I love writing poems. I can let my feelings out without feeling like I’m ranting. It gives me time to collect my thoughts and set them in some sort of order. It can be hard to process thoughts, especially the more horrible ones. But when I look back at my poetry I can feel how I felt at the time.

I don’t know whether my poetry is any good. But what people have told me is that it comes across as genuine. I hope people can feel just a part of how I was feeling at the time I wrote it.

But what I really hate is what I call douchebag poetry. The bearded hipster of poetry (I’m the lazy poet in the bunny slippers).

Sometimes I read a poem and I think what are you trying to say? Why have you used these words you would never use in real life? Are you trying to sound smarter? Where is the feeling?

I look at poetry competitions and I’m put off because my poetry is nothing like any winners I’ve seen. I’ve seen good poetry – way better than mine. But so much of it is.. bleh…

Maybe my poetry isn’t for the competitions. Maybe one day I’ll give it a go. Maybe all poetry is good poetry for someone… Just like beauty is in the eye of the beholder? Maybe I just don’t like what I don’t understand…

Find my poetry at FeelaFeelingWriteaPoem

Leave a Reply

