Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence

When I think of the sound of silence, I think of waking up as a child and seeing that it had snowed. Whenever we had storms I’d sit up listening for thunder, hearing the rain beating on the windows. But when it snowed, there was no sign until I opened my curtains in the morning.

It’s almost as if it magically appeared in the night. That’s not a hint by the way.. I’ve had enough of this wonderful British weather.

So that’s basically the inspiration for my poem:

Silence is…

Silence is the snowfall
Drifting to the ground
Settling on rooftops
Swift without a sound

Silence is the rainbow
Appearing way up high
A curve of gentle colours
Flowing in the sky

Silence is the sunshine
Peeking through the clouds
Glistening and gleaming
Warmth spread all around