Daily Prompt: Close Call – Why I Won’t Ride a Bike

Daily Prompt: Close Call

Tell us about a bullet you’re glad you dodged — when something awful almost happened, but didn’t.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CLOSE.

I remember when I was young, I can’t remember how old exactly – On my way from school I dashed across the road as I got into my street. The neighbour’s car just missed me as she turned the corner. She beeped her horn, but I carried on running. I guess I just figured I hadn’t been hit so was fine.

But not long after I got home there was a knock at the door. I was upstairs getting changed when I heard her voice. She’d come to tell my mom what I’d done. I sat at the top of the stairs listening. But of course they saw me and I got a lecture about looking before I crossed the road.

I was a very nervous child, so I can’t understand why  I would dash out in front of a car, just like the other kids did. I had the inability to judge distance and times, and I was exactly fast. Not that anyone could outrun a car.

I don’t do it now anyway. I can’t remember the last time I did.

But I do remember I got hit by a car once. I was on the back of a BMX, standing on the stunt pegs. My friend was riding it. The car came out of nowhere. Or we did.

Luckily neither of us were very hurt. The front wheel of the bike was mangled, and the stunt peg hit me. It felt like it had crushed my leg at the time. But it didn’t even scar.

I don’t dash out in front of cars anymore. I don’t even chance it if they’re far away. Older and wiser, with the knowledge that I probably won’t be so lucky next time.

I also don’t ride bikes anymore. I never really like the thought of them anyway…

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Close Call – Why I Won’t Ride a Bike

  1. Pingback: Close Call | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Running against the stream | Historiefortelling

  3. Pingback: My Stay in the Matrix: The Bullet I Dodged | The Arkside of Thought

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Close Call | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: The Train On The Track | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: It’s a war zone around here! | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: Close |

  8. Pingback: Close call… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: By God’s Grace and Mercy | A Short A Day

Leave a comment